Jacques Rougerie Foundation International Competition 2023

Jacques Rougerie Foundation has opened registration for their 13th International Architecture and Innovation Competition — now open for entries for 2023.

The competition is open to students, professionals, researchers, creators, artists, etc. A candidate can only participate once by submitting a single project.

A total of 40,000 Euro will be awarded as six distinctive prizes, across three main competition categories.

In 2023, the Foundation invites you to push the boundaries. Don’t be afraid to dream by daring, today more than ever. You can influence and propose reinvented living environments through architecture, a permanent field of creation and experimentation at the confluence of arts, sciences and technologies. Nature, a constant inspiration: biomimetics and its 3.8 billion years of evolution allow us to open and explore this new path of innovation.

Your projects must be bold, forward-looking. Enthusiastic more than normalized, they will show that inspiration, when it intersects form, function and environment, can lead a simple idea where it is not expected. Based primarily on biomimicry, in line with the safeguarding of our ecosystems and its biodiversity, they will have to be conceived and drawn in a multidisciplinary way.

We will be 10 billion by 2050. Three-quarters of the population will live near rivers and seashore and will be directly impacted by climate change, rising waters and erosion. As for the exploration of space, it is now inevitable and must be part of a transgenerational approach, conducive to other possibilities, and change paradigms to reconcile Humanity and Nature.

Participants are invited to imagine the habitats of the future and seeks for innovative projects in:

  • Architecture for the Sea
  • Architecture for Space
  • Architecture related to Climate & Rising Water

The Jacques Rougerie Foundation aims to give a new generation of architects, designers and engineers an opportunity to flourish.

Please visit the official website for further information.

It's free to enter.

Deadline: 14 September 2023

visit official website